Shaker…

Janelle Monáe

IMG_2009.PNGJanelle is the true artistic embodiment of black feminism, her sound, style and repertoire represent the oppressed, underrepresented and neglected minorities in society. She is signed to Atlantic record but has also founded Wonderland Records where artists such as Jidenna debuted their African inspired music and style which is also geared towards the emancipation and freedom of the black society. She’s brave, intelligent and strong, her passion to continually represent women not only in her lyrics but in her style as well makes her shaker.

Here are few lines from her track titled Queen where she features Erykah Badu, where Janelle dilivers powerful lines edging the black community to wake up to the consciousness of its disphoria, to keep fighting and to never give up for its quest for true emancipation

“Uh, I asked a question like this
Are we a lost generation of our people?
Add us to equations but they’ll never make us equal
She who writes the movie owns the script and the sequel
So why ain’t the stealing of my rights made illegal?
They keep us underground working hard for the greedy
But when it’s time pay they turn around and call us needy
My crown too heavy like the Queen Nefertiti
Gimme back my pyramid, I’m trying to free Kansas City

Mixing masterminds like your name Bernie Grundman
Well I’m gonna keep leading like a young Harriet Tubman
You can take my wings but I’m still goin’ fly
And even when you edit me the booty don’t lie
Yeah, keep singing and I’mma keep writing songs
I’m tired of Marvin asking me, What’s Going On?
March to the streets cause I’m willing and I’m able
Categorize me, I defy every label
And while you’re selling dope, we’re gonna keep selling hope
We rising up now, you gotta deal you gotta cope
Will you be electric sheep?
Electric ladies, will you sleep?
Or will you preach?” 

Janelle Monáe ft Erykah Badu – Queen

Leave a Reply

